Week 15 – Artist Interview- Kelly Yoo and Andrew Louie

image

Growing up I was always a big fan of animation and cartoon shows, such as the shows from CartoonNetwork, and also Dragonball Z, Pokémon, etc. The 2015 BFA Illustration/Animation Senior Show, Drawn Out, was my favorite show from the whole year. I’m glad this got to be the last show I attended for this class. What a good way to end the class. I fell in love with all the Art that was displayed it was so hard to choose a favorite one. So I picked the art from the two artist that to me stood out the most.
image

image

Kelly Yoo, like me is also a fan of the Dragonball Z series. Her art stood out to me because it reminded me of some of the cartoons from CartoonNetwork. The characters where never normal human being colors which was what I liked about her art. I also liked how she illustrated a story with no dialogue but with just drawings.
image

image

Andrew Louie stood out too me with his dinosaur drawings. As a kid I loved dinosaurs, I had a bunch of toy ones and I also had all the Jurassic park movies. What also caught my attention was his ninja drawings. Who does not love ninjas!!!? I enjoyed this show very much and it also made me sad that I won’t be able to attend this weekly art galleries , but I will continue to look at different art because it has taught me so much about myself in just a short semester.

Leave a Reply

